Quoting Frangipane, Again

Because I purchase the cheapest tickets possible when I travel overseas, my trips involve a lot of airport layovers and plane changes. I could get there faster and less exhausted if I would spring for better tickets…but usually I’m spending money given by generous supporters and I feel an obligation to get the most I can for the dollar.

As a result of all those hours, not just on planes but waiting in airports, I read a lot when I travel. This last Philippine trip was no exception. On the journey home I spent one entire day in the overcrowded, under construction, un-air conditioned Manila airport that offered neither food nor drink of any kind. Hordes of international travelers stood in lines for hours guarding piles of luggage. The chair to person ratio was probably one chair for every 500 people. I do not believe I’m exaggerating.

I am convinced it was the Lord’s doing that positioned me right in front of the one chair that happened to be vacated during the first hour I was there. Once occupying the greatly sought-after commodity, I couldn’t leave. I had to guard the luggage pile and the coveted seat. It’s a good thing there was no water available or I might not have had a choice.

Anyway, that day I read The Shelter of the Most High, by Francis Frangipane. It was a God ordained meeting, me and that book, and I was thankful for the uninterrupted hours that made it possible for me to read it cover to cover in one sitting. It answered some of the questions I’d been asking myself and God in the last few months. For me, there was revelation involved.

Here are a few quotes:

“Indeed our journey is divinely designed to be too great for us. The Lord has no plan where we succeed without Him. Life is so constructed to drive us to God…If we become more consumed with our task than we are with our love for God, our lives will eventually become brittle and desolate.” p.9

“But zeal unaccompanied by wisdom eventually becomes its own god.” p.10

“Our primary purpose in life must be to abide in Christ. Otherwise we can become so consumed with the deteriorating condition of the world that we fail to see the deteriorating condition of our own soul.” p.11

“Yesterday’s anointing will not suffice for today’s battles…We should not be surprised if God calls us to pass through our own Horeb.

“How will we recognize this place? Horeb is the voice of personal desolation; it is the desperate compelling of our heart to possess more of God. We must now listen carefully to the voice of God. For it is at Horeb that He brings us deeper into Himself. It is here, under the canopy of His compassion, that we discover the purpose of our brokenness: our desolation is, in fact, a time of preparation.” p.12

“Horeb’s message is this: the Lord does not turn away from our desolation; He comes to redeem it.” p.18

“Thus, if our devotion to our task exceeds our devotion to Him, there will be times when He personally hinders our success.” p.27

“When we lose hope, we simultaneously lose faith, for faith is the substance of the thing hoped for. Without hope or faith, our lives are desolate and without perspective.

“Much of Elijah’s discouragement came from the false expectations he had placed on himself. It is human nature to imagine the outcome of our labors. We so easily and prematurely project ourselves into a place of fulfillment. Yet, whatever our task, we must obey God and leave the results of our efforts in His hands…For us, self-pity can also become a spiritual cave. It can trap us in a dark hole of loneliness and pain. In this place of isolation we fail to hear the encouragement of God. All we really hear is the echo of our own voice magnifying and distorting our problems.” p.28

“Thus we must learn to recognize the nearness of the Lord when there are no “earthquakes” or “storms” to capture our attention…We must learn to detect, without great signs, the still, small voice of God.” pp.30-31

“The more we possess a true knowledge of the Almighty, the more accessible His provisions for us become.” p.37

“The truth is, Jesus Christ is relentlessly given to our perfection. He knows that wherever we settle spiritually will be far short of His provision. He also knows that the more we are transformed into His image, the less vulnerable we are to the evils of this world. Thus He compels us toward difficulties, for they compel us toward God, and God compels us toward change. And it is the transformed heart that finds the shelter of the Most High.” p.63

 

(Quotes taken from The Shelter of the Most High, by Francis Frangipane. Charisma House, Lake Mary, Florida)

This entry was posted in Walking it Out, Wish I'd Said It and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

